Homekeeping

Tea Towels, French Style

Image: She Cleans
Image: She Cleans

The Home and Garden section of my local newspaper peaked my interest in tea towels as it listed several cool things to do with them such as line the bottom of a purse or shelf and then throw in wash when dirty. Sure, I’d heard of tea towels but never gave much thought to purchasing. I searched the web and found some cheap  and some not so cheap. AND THEN I stumbled across The Lovely Cupboard’s DIY version of tea towels… I was intrigued! Like her I purchased the Walmart Mainstays Flour Sack Towels and I also grabbed my fabric markers and stencil from there too.

My first try features a Fleur-de-lis(in French, fleur means flower, and lis means lily) which is a stylized lily or iris used in decorating. Since I spent many years living in South Louisiana, which has a heavy French influence, I love seeing this symbol on most anything.

Written by She Cleans

Leave a Reply

